How to turn off Find My iPhone



Apple’s Find My service enables you to locate your iPhone when you leave it behind, locate family members, or to track your device down when it’s stolen.

There are obvious privacy concerns with this, of course. Thankfully, Apple makes it easy to deactivate Find My iPhone, either direct from your iPhone or remotely through iCloud.com from any device with a web browser (such as a Mac or PC).

Here’s how to turn off Find My iPhone.

What we used

We used the iPhone 13 Pro, but these methods will work on any iPhoneFor the remote method we used a MacBook Pro (2019), but any device with a web browser will suffice

The Short Version

Turn off Find My iPhone directlyTurn off Find My iPhone remotely

Step 1 Turn off Find My iPhone directlyTo turn off Find My iPhone from your iPhone, first enter the Settings app. Now tap your Apple ID at the very top of the screen, followed by Find My.Now tap Find My iPhone at the top of the next screen. Tap the Find My iPhone toggle, then authenticate your Apple ID Password, to turn Find My iPhone off. You should receive an email confirming that this has taken place. Step 2 Turn off Find My iPhone remotelyTo turn off Find My iPhone from another device, open the web browser and head to www.iCloud.com. Sign in using your Apple ID.Click on Find iPhone and sign in again when requested. Click on your iPhone on the ensuing map, or select it from the central device drop-down menu. Now click the ‘i’ button, followed by Remove from Account.Note that the Remove from Account option will only present itself when your iPhone is offline. Also note that the device will reappear in this list if it has Activation Lock turned on, which can be an issue if you’ve sold or given away your iPhone without completely erasing it.To remotely remove your iPhone from Find My altogether, follow the above Step 2 guidelines, but rather than Remove from Account select Erase iPhone. The device will be erased when it next comes online, at which point you will be sent an email notification.Now click Remove from Account.

FAQs

What should I do if my iPhone is lost or stolen? Follow Step 2 to sign into Find My remotely and select your iPhone, then select Lost Mode. This will lock your iPhone’s screen with a passcode, disable Apple Pay, and enable you to add a custom message together with your phone number. Should I instantly erase my iPhone if it’s lost or stolen? Probably not, as you will lose the ability to track your iPhone. Also note that if you have AppleCare+ with Theft and Loss, you should report the loss and wait for your claim to be approved before erasing your iPhone.



Source link

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Perfect New Gadgets - Best Gadgets | Best Buy | Perfect Combo
Logo
%d bloggers like this:
Shopping cart